Official FAQs

Official answers from the game designers in response to player questions:

Does a raging barbarian lose the effects of his rage (including the extra hit points from his increased Constitution) when he falls unconscious?

No. Nothing in the rage class feature indicates that the effect ends if the barbarian is rendered unconscious. The Sage shudders to think how many more dead barbarians would be lying around the battlefield if being reduced to –1 hp meant that the barbarian instantly lost additional hp equal to twice his HD! As a general rule, activated effects remain active even if the activating character is rendered incapable of acting (paralyzed, unconscious, dead, and so on) unless the effect stipulates otherwise.

How do I know when my cleric can prepare spells? Does he need to rest first? How many times each day can he prepare spells?

Divine spellcasters who prepare spells (such as clerics and druids) choose and prepare their spells at a particular time of day. Unless the character’s deity or faith specifies a particular time, the character can choose his spell preparation time when he first gains the ability to cast divine spells. Dawn, dusk, noon, and midnight are common choices. If something prevents the character from praying for his spells at the proper time, he must do so as soon as possible or else wait until the next day to prepare his spells. Unlike wizards, divine spellcasters need not rest before preparing spells. All spellcasters can regain spells only once each day.

Does a ranger still deal extra damage to a favored enemy immune to critical hits (such as constructs or undead)? If the ranger uses the Manyshot feat against a favored enemy, does the favored enemy damage bonus apply to all arrows fired in the attack?

Yes and Yes

When you use Manyshot, does your Strength bonus from a mighty composite bow apply to each arrow’s damage?

Yes, as would the enchantment bonus from a magic bow.

The text for synergy under the Diplomacy skill on page 72 of the PH states: “If you have 5 or more ranks in Bluff, Knowledge (nobility and royalty), or Sense Motive, you get a + 2 bonus on Diplomacy checks.” I’m assuming that means if a character has 5 ranks in Bluff, Knowledge (nobility and royalty), and Sense Motive that the character would receive only a + 2 synergy bonus on Diplomacy checks. Or would the character receive a + 6 synergy bonus (+ 2 for each)?

The bonuses listed in the synergy section of a skill description are unnamed and so they stack. (There’s no such thing as a synergy bonus in the current edition of the D&D game.) The character in your example would receive a +6 bonus on Diplomacy checks.

If an attack of opportunity drops a foe, can the attacker then make a follow-up Cleave attack?

Yes. The Cleave feat doesn’t say anything about the attack that triggers it having to be made on the attacker’s turn.

Can a cleric with Divine Metamagic feat apply a metamagic effect to a spell whose level would ordinarily be too high to gain the metamagic effect from his metamagic feat?

Yes—applying a metamagic effect in this manner has no effect on the spell’s level. For example, a 9th-level cleric with Divine Metamagic (Maximize Spell) could spend four turn/rebuke undead attempts to maximize a flame strike spell, even though maximized flame strike would normally require an 8th-level spell slot to cast.

When do so-called full-round actions take place? Does a sorcerer’s heightened spell (or any other spell with a metamagic feat applied) go off on the sorcerer’s turn, or not until just before the sorcerer’s action on the following turn? What about other full-round actions? When is the action finished?

Any full-round action takes place entirely during the acting character’s turn. That is, the action begins and ends during the acting character’s turn in the initiative order. Though taking a full-round action leaves you no time to move (except, possibly, a 5-foot step) it does not continue into the next round in the same way a spell with a casting time of 1 round does. A full-round action is quicker than a 1-round casting time. (A spell with a casting time of 1 round is completed at the beginning of your turn the following round)

When a character gets up from prone, when does the attack of opportunity take place? When he is still prone? When he is standing? Can the attacker choose when to attack? In one case, the attacker can get a +4 bonus to hit. In the other, he can make another trip attack.

All attacks of opportunity happen before the actions that trigger them (see Chapter 8 in the PH). When you make an attack of opportunity against someone who’s getting up, your target is effectively prone, and therefore cannot be tripped. You could ready an action to trip a prone foe after he gets up, however.

Are the multiple figments from a mirror image spell legal targets for cleaving? That is, if you have the Cleave feat and you hit an image and destroy it, can you then attack another target within reach (such as another figment from the spell or perhaps the spell user)? What about Whirlwind Attack? Can you use this feat to attack all the images around the spell user? What about spells that allow multiple targets, such as magic missile? Can you aim magic missiles at different images?

For all intents and purposes, the figments from a foe’s mirror image spell are your foes. You aim your spells and your attacks at the figments just as though they were real creatures. Any spell you can aim at a creature you can aim at an image. When you use a spell that allows you to select multiple creatures as targets, such as magic missile, you can choose multiple images as targets. If you have the Cleave or Great Cleave feat, destroying an image with a melee attack triggers the feat (and your cleaving attack might well strike the spell user instead of another image). Likewise, you can use Whirlwind Attack to strike at any image you can reach. A Whirlwind Attack almost certainly will allow you to strike once at the spell user.

Is there a way to decide which squares the figments from a mirror image spell occupy? Or do the images distribute themselves randomly? If it’s the latter, how does the DM decide where they go?

Although the spell description says the images from a mirror image spell always stay within 5 feet of either the user or another image, assume that all the images occupy the same space the spell user occupies. Any attack that can reach the user’s space can affect an image.

Official FAQs

Cauldron: The Shackled City PadisharBrazil